Skip to main content
YouTube Channel    
HomeAbout Us

SFTGG History

In March of 1984, a small group of visionary guides formed the San Francisco Tour Guide Guild. Their goal was to launch a professional tour guide organization for professionals for networking, for a Tour Guide Certification program, for ongoing education, and to standardize and improve working conditions. The organization has evolved to include a Hire A Guide program, as well as a business partner program for tour operators and other organizations within the industry. Now in its fourth decade, the Guild is proud to have the organization’s standards respected by industry stakeholders, and replicated by other guide groups.

Association Info

Mailing Address
P.O. Box 170610
San Francisco, CA 94117
United States of America

SFTGG members

We have over 200 members, including Professional Tour Guides, Travel Directors, Transportation Specialists, and both business and individual Friends of the Guild. Our guides are former teachers, business professionals, lawyers, film directors, and others of varied educational backgrounds. Friends include destination management companies, cruise and sail charter, and representatives from restaurants, attractions, and tourist publications.

Goals and Objectives

Our goals and objective are to foster a standard of quality, ethics and professionalism among tour guides working in the San Francisco Bay Area. We do this through a certification program. We serve as a source for both the operator and the guide, providing the service of finding guides for tour operators, as well as offering programs of lectures and special events for the continuing education of the membership.

CONTACT US

To hire one of our guides, ask questions about being a member or just to say hi. We try to respond to all messages in a timely manner.
We look forward to hearing from you!


To hire a guide for your tour or program, click.    Hire a Guide.

For membership inquiries email: members@sftgg.org

For all other inquiries email: info@sftgg.org or call us at: 415.787.3844

or write us: SFTGG, P.O. Box 170610, San Francisco, CA 94117-0610

 

2021 San Francisco Tour Guide Guild Board of Trustees

Role Name Contact Term
President Len Holmes president@sftgg.org 12/2021
Vice President   vp@sftgg.org 12/2020
Secretary Mia Bernt info@sftgg.org, 999miab@gmail.com 12/2021
Treasurer Clemencia Colmenares treasurer@sftgg.org 12/2020
Membership Chair Julie Brown
members@sftgg.org 12/2020
Certification Chair Mark Leuthold certification@sftgg.org 12/2021
Programs Chair Roberto Natalini  programs@sftgg.org  12/2021
PR/ At Large Kathy Richter kathy@sfwalks.com
12/2021
Technology Maggie Joanidis maggie.joanidis@gmail.com
 12/2020